How Many Stories?

Forgive me, this may be a bit more rambling than what you want to endure. I’ve decided to just type whatever comes into my head for this post. My apologies if the thoughts I put down don’t quite flow together as well as they should.

I’m working on a few different stories at the moment. First, we have Jazelle, Bryce, and Ethan–Erotica. I don’t think I’ve said much about them here…which is odd considering how much I’ve written about them. Second, we have Arryn, Imir, Felice, and Elijah–Erotic Fantasy. They are my top obsession at the moment. Third, we have Hesandra and Gosi (and sometimes Imir)–Erotic Fantasy. This group I just play around with, jot down plot notes, dialogue, whatever comes to mind. Point is, I work on all three of them every week, without fail.

There’s only three?!

That’s odd for me. I would normally have something like five or six, maybe more, going all at the same time. Even so, it still feels crowded inside my head. There’s so much I want to do with all of them that they keep my mind occupied 24/7.

A lot of writers can’t have more than one story going at a time. That’s happened to me before once or twice, where I felt like I had to focus my attention on just one story. More than one can be too much of a distraction sometimes. We feel like working on Story A and B–or A, B, C, D, and E–would cause Story A to not be as good as it could/should be. Each writer has their own preference, it works for some and doesn’t work for others.

I fall under the other category; I’m one of those that likes to work on multiple stories at once. I know quite a few writers that feel the same way. We’re doing edits on this one, in the middle of writing those two, making notes on another idea, completely rewriting yet another one. The list goes on and on. Odd behavior, I know, but it happens.

So, where she would we draw the line? I mean, I’ve had a max of three story ideas spawn from writing Story A–never more than that.  At some point we have to stop creating new things so we can work on the existing stories right?

I’m curious if other writers experience this same thing, only worse. I imagine a spiderweb or a tree branch when I think about this. Ideas growing out of little bits of information here and there in Story A, branching off and becoming something completely new. Maybe it’s related to Story A in some way or maybe it’s not.

I firmly believe this is a good thing. How could I think otherwise? The biggest appeal for me is knowing that if I’m stuck on Story A, I can take my mind off it by working on something else. Sometimes I leave it for a few hours, sometimes for a few weeks. I’ve tried doing other things like reading, listening to music, etc., but they never quite work for me. The best remedy for me is to work on Story B or C or D…you get my point.

Leave a Reply

