This Madness Must End

Disclaimer: I understand I am contributing to the problem by publishing this post.

If I read one more “50 shades” of anything, I’m going to rip my hair out. Ok, not literally, but I want to. Don’t get me wrong, I liked the books, but I am tired of hearing a 50 reference every time I turn around.

–It’s only been worse with the movie coming out. Sadly, the choices they’re making are turning me off watching the movie. A huge disappointment there; I was looking forward to seeing Christian brought to life but it seems they’re not doing it the proper way with their “tamer version“. (That’s another post altogether I think.)–

Go to your bff of search engines, (Google, duh) and type in “50 Shades” and watch how much nonsense pops up. Once you get past the obvious sites dedicated to the author, books, and movies, you get into the real goodies. A few examples: a parody cookbook, countless musicals, and my personal favorite, the Fifty Shades Generator. (This site kills me. Too funny!) Even budding authors aren’t immune to the craze. I was checking out some books for my Kindle one day and I saw one titled almost the same, only the color was different. –insert “Alrighty then” meme– Talk about authors being original. (Homework: Google the images for “anti 50 shades of grey meme”, you’ll get a giggle or two out of it.)

MadnessPost

I get the popularity is off the wall and all that jazz. I just don’t think it’s necessary to shove 50 down our throats at every turn. (Shut. Up. with your jokes about bad puns and/or references to loving the idea of 50 down your throat.) There’s this erotica story name generator, something like that anyway, that is a spawn of the craze and it’s one of the most ridiculous sites I’ve seen. (Don’t judge what I Google when I’m bored.)

The big problem? It’s not going away anytime soon. The first movie has yet to come out, plus we have (possibly) two more to follow. I’m praying to the movie gods that they don’t go all bat shit crazy and decide to, unnecessarily, split the third book in half and make two movies like they seem to be doing with everything else these days. (I’m sorry, but splitting up Mockingjay–just like Breaking Dawn–is plain stupid. It’s not needed.) I could go on forever about this, so I’ll just stop there.

Enough already, please, I’m begging for it to stop. At this rate, I won’t be missing the movie because of how they’re making it, I’ll be missing it because I’m going to be so tired of 50 by the time it comes out I’ll want to stab Christian Grey on sight.

I have a love/hate relationship with the 50 books themselves, but as I said earlier, I’m so ready for this madness to die down. I’m aware this isn’t the first, or last, time a craze like this is going to happen. People are going to keep going nuts over 50 until something else comes along. That’s just the way it is…

/rant

And now back to your regularly scheduled programming.

Leave a comment